Omar Ayub appointed as Leader of the Opposition
ISLAMABAD: (Suno News) National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq has appointed Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-backed independent candidate Omar Ayub as the Leader of the Opposition.

The National Assembly secretariat has released the details of the members of the House according to which 88 MNAs of the PTI-backed Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) have been declared independent members of the House.

According to the details released by the National Assembly secretariat, the number of MNAs of the government coalition in the House is 226.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has 122, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) 70, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) 22, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) five, and Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) has four MNAs in the National Assembly.

There are 11 members of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) in the National Assembly. Muslim League (Zia), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), National Party (NP), Majlis Wahdatul Muslimeen (MWM), Balochistan National Party (BNP), and Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) each have one member in the House.