15 February 2024

HomeElection 2024PPP rejects shared prime ministership formula

PPP rejects shared prime ministership formula

PPP rejects formula for a shared prime ministership

PPP rejects shared prime ministership formula

ISLAMABAD: (Suno News) The senior leadership of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has rejected the formula to share the post of prime minister with Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

According to the proposed power-sharing formula, the PML-N and the PPP nominees were to serve as the prime ministers for two and a half years each.

According to the PPP sources, a meeting of the party’s Central Executive Committee (CEC) was held under the chairmanship of Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and Asif Zardari.

National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gilani, Saeed Ghani, Sherry Rehman, Nayyer Bukhari, and other CEC members attended the meeting.

The post-election situation was considered in the CEC meeting, and the party leadership was taken into confidence about their meetings with the PML-N. The CEC members also presented their proposals about forming a coalition government.

Suno News sources have said that the post-election situation and the nomination of Bilawal Bhutto Zardari as the prime ministerial candidate were discussed in the meeting.

While presenting the PML-N’s proposals before the CEC members, the PPP leadership suggested the role of Opposition Leader for Bilawal Bhutto.

Senior PPP leaders also suggested that Bilawal Bhutto should be made the prime minister if a strong government is formed.

The formula to share the prime ministership with the PML-N was rejected during the CEC meeting. Senior PPP members suggested there should be no haste in forming the government.

Share With:
Rate This Article


No Comments

Leave A Comment