19 February 2024

HomeLatest NewsGovt forms fact-finding committee to identify those behind 2017 Faizabad sit-in

Govt forms fact-finding committee to identify those behind 2017 Faizabad sit-in

Govt forms fact-finding committee to identify those behind 2017 Faizabad sit-in

Govt forms fact-finding committee to identify those behind 2017 Faizabad sit-in

Islamabad: (Suno News) The federal government Friday formed a fact-finding committee to investigate and identify those responsible for the tumultuous events surrounding the 2017 Faizabad sit-in.

According to a report submitted by the attorney general, the fact-finding committee will implement the decision of the Supreme Court on February 6, 2019, in the Faizabad sit-in case.

The additional secretary (home), additional secretary (defence), and Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) director will be part of the committee which will conduct an inquiry under the prescribed TORs.

According to the report, the committee has been tasked with identifying the handlers of the sit-in. It will review all the documents, records, and evidence, and it will record the statements of the witnesses concerned.

The committee will review the case in the light of the relevant laws, and it will also review the role of the management concerned and the instructions issued. The committee will submit a report with its recommendations.

It is to be noted here that several years before Chief Justice Qazi Faiz Isa was sworn in as the Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP), he in his judgement directed the federal government to monitor and punish those who promoted hatred, extremism and terrorism in the country.

The Supreme Court had taken suo motu notice of the Faizabad sit-in issue in November 2018, and later a two-member bench comprising Justice Qazi Faez Isa and Justice Mushir Alam pronounced a detailed verdict in the case in February 2019.

Later in April 2019, through the Ministry of Defence, the then federal government, Intelligence Bureau (IB), Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA), Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Pakistan, Awami Muslim League chief Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed and Ijazul Haq filed petitions to review the verdict in the Supreme Court.

It is worth mentioning here that on November 5, 2017, Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) staged a sit-in at the Faizabad Interchange, located at the junction of Islamabad and Rawalpindi, against the amendment to the prophethood finality oath.

The government launched an operation on November 25, 2017, against the protesters after the failure of efforts to end the sit-in peacefully through negotiations and an order by the Islamabad High Court (IHC) to vacate Faizabad.

More than 100 people, including security personnel, were injured in the operation.

As a result of the sit-in, life in the federal capital was affected, while after the operation, protests and demonstrations started in different cities of the country in support of the TLP. People had to face a great deal of inconvenience due to the country-wide protests.

On November 27, 2017, the government accepted all the demands of the sit-in participants, including the resignation of the then-law minister Zahid Hamid, and the release of activists arrested during the operation.

Later, the Supreme Court took notice of the issue and asked for a response from the institutions concerned.

Share With:
Rate This Article


No Comments

Leave A Comment