12 December 2023

HomeLatest NewsAustralia hit a World Cup sixer

Australia hit a World Cup sixer

Australia hit a World Cup sixer

Australia hit a World Cup sixer

AHMEDABAD: (Web Desk) Australia won the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup for the sixth time as they defeated hosts India by six wickets at Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Opener Travis Head hit a sparkling 137 to power Australia to a convincing win over India. Chasing 241 for victory in the final, Aussies slipped to 47-3 before the left-handed Head’s 137 steered the team home with seven overs to spare.

Earlier, India set Australia a 241-run target in the final. Australia won the toss and chose to bowl first against India in the final played at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, India.

India’s batting line-up faltered before the Australia’s bowling attack as nine of their players were dismissed at 227 in 48 hours.

In the beginning too, Men in Blue could score 81 runs for 3 in 11 overs.

Gill scored 4 runs, Rohit Sharma 47, and Shreyas Iyer scored 4 runs before they were sent back to the pavilion by Australian bowlers.

In the World Cup 2023, India were the undefeated hosts, and they had full intentions to bring the trophy home.

Australia, on the other hand, are known for their resilience and robustness in big tournaments. They are the most successful team in the competition’s history, winning the 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015 editions, and they have now the 2023 trophy with them too.

India brought the World Cup trophy home twice, first in 1983 and the second in 2011.

Playing XIs

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Share With:
Rate This Article


No Comments

Leave A Comment